Spiritual Preparation

21 07 2011

I think this missions trip more than any other, I’ve focused on spiritual preparation. This is the most important type of preparation and necessary prior to any ministry. By prioritizing spiritual preparation I am essentially declaring that only as a Christ-follower can I do this; I am not relying on any of my own abilities, but only what gifts and talents that God has blessed me with. What I lack, I depend on God for, knowing full-well that it is his work and plan being carried out in Kenya and not my own. I will be most effective as a missionary when I am trusting fully in Christ for all my needs and understanding that it is Christ who makes the seeds grow; I only sow or water.

“I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow.” ~ 1 Corinthians 3:6-7 (NIV).

I hope that this type of preparation will carry over into my missionary work in my family, at Baylor, with my high-school friends, at church and in the future.

 


Actions

Information

One response

27 07 2011
Grant Kaul

Hey David – These great insights into the nature of spiritual leadership. I am very grateful for you. Serving Him with you, Grant

Leave a comment