Preparation

18 07 2011

CMDA (Christian Medical Dental Association), the mission organization that I am going to Kenya with each team member a daily devotional book with a week worth of devotions for “Pre-Field”, two weeks of “On-Field” devotions for while we are in Kenya and a week’s worth of “Reentry” devotionals for after the trip. I started the “Pre-Field” ones on Friday and they have really helped me to prepare myself spiritually for this missions trip. I would like to share with you some of my thoughts and insights that I have been journaling about.

Pre-Field Day 1: July 15

The boy-scout motto is “Be Prepared”. As an Eagle Scout, I not only do not like being unprepared, but I usually double and triple-check things before going anywhere. Going on this missions trip to Kenya should be no different. 2 Timothy 2:15 reads: “Work hard so God can approve you. Be a good worker, one who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the world of truth.” As I read this passage, I notice two difficult tasks: (1) being one who does not need to be ashamed and (2) being one who correctly handles or explains the world of truth. The former involves placing faith over fear and stepping out in obedience to do whatever God wants you to do. The latter is quite a daunting task that I always fear when sharing the gospel. In order to properly handle God’s word, I need to constantly study the Bible, allowing it to thoroughly, completely or adequately equip me for every good work God has in store for me. I must also trust God to speak truth through me. The final preparation I will need– besides boldness and truth-handling– is cultural awareness and sensitivity which I will try to gain through pre-trip resaerch of Kenya, but more so through careful observation once I arrive there.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment