Personal Prayer Requests & Thoughts

19 07 2011

* This blog is also adapted from personal journal entries.

Day 2 “Pre-Field”- July 16

Colossians 1:10 says “And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God…”

In order to bear fruit in every good work, I must have the attitude that this is God’s work and not my own. This is an attitude that I truly want in school, in being a doctor, in being a missionary and in going to Kenya. But, if I think I can do it on my own, then I will surely fail, but with God, all things are possible. These tasks seem so daunting, yet I must continually remind myself that I serve a big and powerful God!

I still pray for unity for our 32 person team who won’t meet until the day we leave. I also pray for myself and my uncertainty over my role on the team, that I would be flexible, trust God, and do whatever He wants me to do joyfully and with complete effort.

Day 3 “Pre-Field”- July 17

The slum area outside Nairobi will be perhaps the poorest area that I’ve ever seen. I pray that God would prepare my heart and mind for that and to still see the people as God’s loved ones. I also prayer that God would open up my eyes to see how He is already present in their country and what parts of their culture already speak truth and point toward Christ. The Kenyans will have as much, if not more to teach me, as I will have to teach them. Nevertheless, I want to be prepared to share the gospel or a personal testimony of how Christ has changed my life with anyone who needs and wants to hear about Jesus.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment