Pre-Trip Literature

21 07 2011

As I prepare for Kenya, I’ve been blessed to read two wonderful books, “Jesus, M.D.” by David Stevens and “Living in Color” by Randy Woodley. In “Jesus, M.D.”, Dr. Stevens compares Jesus as the Great Physician to aspects of being a doctor while using anecdotes from his 12 years as a medical missionary in Kenya and as head of the medical branch of Samaritan’s Purse. I’m excited that during the upcoming Kenya missions trip, I will get the opportunity to visit the mission hospital, Tenwek, in Kenya where so many of Dr. Steven’s stories take place.It is a place that God has used and is using for GREAT things.

“Living in Color” offers a great perspective of multi-ethnicity within the kingdom of God from the point of view of Woodley, a Native American. It points out the proper Biblical attitude we should have toward people of other cultures in the Church, as Christians in the world and on the mission field. I hope to apply some of what I’ve been learning in this book to loving the Kenyans in the same manner that Christ loves them. Both books have really helped me to prepare spiritually for this missions trip to Kenya. I certainly recommend these two books for any Christian who wants to have a more godly mindset and live more like Christ. Not only that, but these books are very well-written and both authors share encouraging testimonies from their own lives and the lives of Christians they’ve known.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment